Championship HONOURBOARD

Kym Olsen
2017 Winner
Kym Olsen VIC
Ian Frost
2016 Winner
Ian Frost VIC
John Wheeler
2015 Winner
John Wheeler VIC
Barry Tippett
2014 Winner
Barry Tippett VIC
Roy Vandersluis
2013 Winner
Roy Vandersluis NSW
Graham Blizard
2012 Winner
Graham Blizard NSW
Tham Chin
2011 Winner
Tham Chin VIC
Rick Oliver
2010 Winner
Rick Oliver NSW
Michael Jackson
* 2009 Winner
Michael Jackson VIC
Chris Tatt
* 2008 Winner
Chris Tatt VIC
Bill Banks
* 2007 Winner
Bill Banks ACT
Michael Jackson
* 2006 Winner
Michael Jackson VIC

Round 3 Report

2017nationalmasters The final round of the 2017 edition of The National Senior Masters Championship has concluded on yet another spectacular golfing day at Cape Schanck.

More ideal conditions could not have been planned for the duration of the championship, with brilliant sunshine lighting up the undulating links across all 3 days.

Kym Olsen (green jacket) has secured himself the coveted Green Jacket on the Ocean Course today following a dominating display of artistry out on the links.

Using his home ground knowledge, Olsen carded 3 sub-par rounds for a record breaking 54-hole total of 5 under par which included 15 birdies in total for the championship.

The current Australian Senior Amateur champion rolled in a seven-shot victory over fellow National member Mark Limon at 2 over par. Rounding out the top 3 positions and trio of local winners at 5 over par was 2016 runner-up Simon Bracegirdle.

Nett honours was awarded to NSW visitor Rex Suckling (left) who finished strong today with a nett 71 for a total of 1 over par.

Following a strong start on day 1, the Belmont member found the Old course a challenge yesterday but rallied home in the final round to finish a mere shot ahead of runner-up Ian Donaldson of Yering Meadows. Claiming third place on a count-back a further shot back was fellow New South Welshman Paul Dickinson of Wyong.

Across on the Moonah course in the Consolation field, the best scratch score was carded by Steven Davies with a 77 off the stick. In the nett section it was Henk Van de Ven of Howlong who enjoyed his first win in 8 years with a solid nett 70.

Shot of the day went to another ace on the par 3 hole 13th by Metropolitan’s Frank Newton, backing up the hole in one on the same hole from Rob Coxon of Green Acres in round 1.

The championship is one of three National Senior ranking events in Victoria, consistently attracting a high calibre field of the top local, interstate and international senior male players since its inception in 2010. The 54-hole stroke format consists of a 36-hole cut for the top 75 gross players (plus ties) rounded out with the next best 25 nett players.


Round 1 – Golf for a Cause NTP – Michael Lowrie
Round 2 – Golf for a Cause NTP – Ivan Walls
Round 3 – Golf for a Cause NTP (Moonah) – Tony Stanes
Round 3 – Golf for a Cause NTP (Ocean) – Tom Harold

Round 1 – Best Gross: Martin Minogue 70 c/b
Round 1 – Best Nett: Michael Gordon 67
Round 2 – Best Gross: Kym Olsen 71
Round 2 – Best Nett: Greg Ellis 71 c/b
Round 3 – Best Gross: Mark Abeyaratne 74
Round 3 – Best Nett: Rex Suckling 74

National Senior Masters Handicap Third: Paul Dickinson 219 c/b
National Senior Masters Handicap Runner-Up: Ian Donaldson 218
National Senior Masters Handicap Champion: Rex Suckling 217

National Senior Masters Third: Simon Bracegirdle 221
National Senior Masters Runner-Up: Mark Limon 218
National Senior Masters Champion: Kym Olsen 211 (Tournament Record)

Dates of the 2018 championship are locked in for Tuesday 10 to Thursday 12 April.

Golf Victoria wishes to thank The National Golf Club for the first-class hospitality provided to all players and guests

2017 Round 2 Report

Martin Minogue Kym Olsen has fired a second successive round under par and holds a commanding four stroke lead with one round to play.

Olsen fired a round of 71 on The Old course today in a round that contained four birdies. This followed his opening round of 70 and he leads on three under par 141.

He leads fellow National Club member Simon Bracegirdle by four strokes after Bracegirdle returned a round of 74 following his opening 71 for a 36-hole total of 145.

Also on 145 is West Australian Martin Minogue (left) with rounds of 70-75. Minogue finished third at the recent NSW Senior Championship and will be keen to go two better in the final round tomorrow.

Greg Rhodes has followed his opening round of 70 with a second round 76 to be on 146 the same score as another National Club member Mark Limon with consistent rounds of 73-73.

It appears likely the the winner will come from these five golfers. Three of them are members at The National proving that experience on the three different courses that make up this wonderful golfing complex is a clear advantage.

Tuncurry golfer Greg Ellis is next after fine rounds of 75 and 73. A previous winner of the Victorian Senior Championship Ellis could produce something special tomorrow.

Mark Abeyartane had the best round of the morning shooting a 73 and he has moved up the leaderboard on a total of 149.

Greg Stanford followed his opening round of 71 with a round of 79 for a 36 hole total of 150.

Phil Towle after opening with a par round of 72 left his A Game behind today and finished with 85. As did Ian Watkins 71-84, Richard Greville 73-85, Stephen Enright 75-89, Paul Wearne 74-84, John Rademakers 74-85, Tony Briers 76-88 and Ross Rees 76-88 to name a few. The Old course can be penal!

The tournament concludes tomorrow with the final round being played on perhaps the most difficult of the three courses - the Ocean Course.

2017 Round 1 Report

The National 4 champions The 2017 National Senior Masters Championship kicked off this morning, as 192 senior golfers from interstate & overseas made their way on to the Greg Norman designed par 72 Moonah layout.

With picture perfect golfing conditions greeting the field, low scores were the order of the day with six players breaking par into red numbers.

In the race for the ‘Green Jacket’ Minogue finds himself in a three-way tie at -2 (70) with the two most recent Australian Senior Amateur champions, Greg Rhodes (Coomealla) and local The National member Kym Olsen.

Keeping the trio honest is another three-way tie at -1 (71) which features another The National local Simon Bracegirdle, Greg Stanford (Mona Vale NSW) and Queensland visitor Ian Watkins (Toowoomba).

Queenslander Phil Towle produced an even par round of 72 to be two behind the leaders.

In the nett championship, Concord’s (NSW) Michael Gordon has set the pace with a brilliant opening nett round of 67 from a daily handicap of 9 shooting a gross round of 76.

Hot on Gordon’s heels is tied gross championship leader Martin Minogue (Lakelands WA) and The Metropolitan’s Stephen Enright who both returned nett rounds of 68.

Highlight of the day came from Green Acres member Rob Coxon, who aced the 159m 13th hole to cap off an exciting start to this year’s event.

Second round play will now move to the famed Robert Trent Jones Jnr Old Course tomorrow, as the field moves through to the halfway mark of this year’s championship. With another fine day predicted, the low scoring of today’s opening round is expected to continue.

The 2017 The National Senior Masters Championship will again be played at The National Golf Club on the Victorian Mornington Peninsula. This is a great tournament on what most consider to be the best golfing complex in Australia.

Entries are always high so do get your entry in on time.

* In 2010 the National Senior Masters replaced the Cobram-Barooga Senior Championship as the " second" Victorian event on the Australian Senior Ranking System calendar.

The Cobram-Barooga tournament had been run from 2006 to 2009 and since then has continued as a major event in the Victorian Senior Order of Merit competition.

Leave a Comment