Championship Honourboard

2017 Winner
Mark Pearson ACT
Russell Bunn
2016 Winner
Russell Bunn NSW
Greg Ellis
2015 Winner
Greg Ellis NSW
Stefan Albinski
2014 Winner
Stefan Albinski NSW
3 Winners
2013 Winner
Vince Clark NSW *
3 Winners
2013 Winner
Denis Dale NSW
3 Winners
2013 Winner
Greg McKay NSW
Bill Banks
2012 Winner
Bill Banks ACT
Bill Banks
2011 Winner
Bill Banks ACT
Denis Dale
2010 Winner
Denis Dale NSW
Peter King
2009 Winner
Peter King QLD
Brad Doolan
2008 Winner
Brad Doolan ACT
Denis Dale
2007 Winner
Denis Dale NSW
Tony Gresham
2006 Winner
Tony Gresham NSW

Mona Vale senior Mark Pearson has easily won the 2017 ACT Seniors Championship.

Pearson had rounds of 73-73-73 to prove far too good for a strong field and a winning total of 219.

In an elegant display he finished at 5 over par in the championship which was played at Queanbeyan, Gold Creek and Federal Golf Clubs.

Pearson recovered from a poor start at Queanbeyan Golf Club and was 6 over par after his first nine holes. From there Pearson played beautifully to record ten birdies and finish the 54 hole event at five over par.

Second place went to the timeless veteran Ross Bockman (right) who had the distinction of claiming the tournament low round with a brilliant 70 (two under) at Gold Creek. Bockman had rounds of 81-70-76 to total 227.

Third place went to popular Yass visitor Paul Matthews (left) who had rounds of 79-72-77 for a total of 228.

The hotly contested Over 65's age division was won by Tuncurry star golfer Tony Kennings (pictured right with Denis Dale). He had rounds of 80-78-77 for a 54 hole total of 235 in a classy display.

The womens's championship saw Jill Blenkey (holding trophy) make it three ACT titles in a row. Blenkey led all the way to defeat a high quality field.

Second place went to Victorian Helen Pascoe (left) while NSW's Jacqui Morgan (right) finished third.

From the ACT Website

The final day of the District Senior Championships was held at the picturesque Federal Golf Club. The weather was largely benign with the rain generally holding off until later in the afternoon.

While the greens were not as fast as usual, they were rock hard making holding the ball on the greens difficult. Despite relatively friendly tee and pin placements, the scoring was not as good as might have been expected.


Shooting a third round of 73, Mark Pearson (Mona Vale H/C zero) ran away with the scratch event with a three day total of four over 219. Mark’s length off the tee and steady putting was a feature of his play. He won by eight shots from Ross Bockman (Long Reef H/C 1).

Third was Paul Mathews (Yass H/C 3) a further two shots back on 229 and fourth was leading Order of Merit player Ken Brewer (Concord H/C 3) on 230.

The net competition was a lot tighter with Wagga’s Peter Zotti (H/C 8) storming home with a net 69 for a three day net score of two under 212. Peter was remarkably consistent shooting net 73, 70 and 69 over the three days.

He won by one stroke from the unlucky John Stephens (Mollymook H/C 11); by four shots from Graham Leake (Shell Cove H/C 5) and seven shots from Ross Rees (Royal Canberra H/C 4).


The overnight leader Jill Blenkey (Newcastle Golf Club H/C 5) ) shot a five over 78 for a three day total score of 232. After 38 strokes on the front nine, Jill would have thought she had the title sown up for the third year in succession.

But four bogeys on the back nine made the final result a lot closer than she would have expected.

Jill held off Helen Pascoe (Buninyong H/C 1) who shot 77 to finish on a three day total of 234. But had it not been for a quadruple bogey eight on the easy 5th hole, things could have been very different.

In third place for the scratch competition was Jacqui Morgan (Monash H/C 2) on a three day total of 235 and Pauline Jeffery on 240.

In the net competition, Pauline Jeffery (Queanbeyan H/C 8) shot net 75 for a three day net score of 216. Things became a bit wobbly for Pauline on the back none with three double bogeys and three bogeys.

But Pauline’s lead was enough to win the net event by one shot from Jill Blenkey; eight shots from Monash’s Jennifer Roberts (H/C 16) on 224; and 10 shots from Lyn Bennett (Gosnells H/C 12) on 226.

2017 ACT Senior Amateur Championship
Gungahlin Lakes, Gold Creek, Federal Golf Clubs
November 14-16, 2017

The 2017 ACT Senior Mens and Womens Championship will be held from 14th to Thursday 16th November. It will be a 54 hole stroke competition held at Queanbeyan, Gold Creek and Federal.

It is a Senior Order of Merit event open to all golfers over 55 years of age with a GA handicap. The maximum handicaps are 18.0 for men & 25.0 for women (as at 14 November 2017).

The cost of entry is $150 (if entered online) or $160 for manual entry (including GST). The entry fee will also cover the presentation meal after final round.

Entries close at 5pm on Wednesday 8th November 2017.

1 Comment

    • Luke Warrener

      September 4, 2017

      What date is the entry form available ?

Leave a Comment