2016 Tasmanian Senior Masters

2016 Tasmanian Senior Masters
Royal Hobart Golf Club
November 25-27, 2016


Round 3

Steve Toyne (left) has easily won the inaugural Tasmanian Senior Open.

Toyne fired a third round of 77 to go with his earlier rounds of 75 and 76 to defeat a gallant Mark Gatty.

Toyne's total was 238 while Gatty had rounds of 80-76-77 for a 54 hole total of 243.

David McClelland finished third overall with rounds of 86-78-81 = 245. Terry Small was fourth and Peter Crocker fifth. 

Round 2

markgatty16stevetoyne16Steve Toyne has moved further ahead after two rounds of the Tasmanian Senior Masters.

Toyne fired a second round 76 to follow his opening round of 75 and now leads Mark Gatty by 5 shots. Gatty improved today with a round of 76 after his opening 80. These two have opened a big lead on the field and will battle it out tomorrow.

Barry Tippett had opened with a 79 but he has withdrawn from the event.

The tournament concludes tomorrow.

Round 1

Steve Toyne has opened up a four stroke lead after the first round of the Tasmanian Senior Masters. He fired a classy round of 75 to lead Victorian senior Barry Tippett who had a round of 79.

These two were the only golfers to break 80. Darryl Hearsch and Mark Gatty were next on 80.

The second round continues tomorrow.

Photos courtesy of Sandra Ainsley


This will be the inaugural playing of the Tasmanian Senior Masters at the Royal Hobart Golf Club.

The Men's Senior Tasmanian Senior Masters is an Australian Men's Senior Ranking Event. It is for players aged 55 and above, and is played over 54-holes stroke play in conjunction with the Tasmanian Open. It is conducted by Golf Tasmania.


Royal Hobart

The Royal Hobart Golf Club was founded in 1916 and the Royal Charter was conferred in 1925.

Royal Hobart is recognised as Tasmania’s premier members’ Club and particular emphasis is placed on presenting the course in impeccable condition all year round.

Original course designer, Vern Morcom, made best use of the natural sand base to construct over 80 fairway and greenside bunkers. These are a special feature of the course that adds an important dimension to how players of all levels approach their game.

In 1997 a new course master plan was adopted to guide long term course improvements to ensure Royal Hobart continues to offer a challenging golfing experience for members and visitors alike. Subtle changes have since been introduced, but always conforming to the original design concept.

Royal Hobart has hosted a number of major Championship events over the years including the Tasmanian Open, Australian Amateur, Australian Women’s Amateur and the Qantas Australian Open in 1971 which was won by the legendary Jack Nicklaus.

Reciprocal members and visitors are most welcome at Royal Hobart.

Royal Hobart

Championship Honour Board

2016 Winner
Steve Toyne

Leave a Comment