2016 South Australian Senior Amateur Championship
Victor Harbor Golf Club
September 5-7, 2016

Greg Rhodes has another big win in the 2016 South Australian Senior Championship

Round 3 Report

The 2016 South Australian Senior Amateur Championship concluded today at Victor Harbor Golf Club.

In another comprehensive display Australia's number one senior golfer, Victorian Greg Rhodes (right)  proved far too good for the field winning by ten strokes with a 54 hole total of 223. In the final round Rhodes had an even par round of 72 that included a back nine of three under par.

NSW Senior David Gleeson (left) and Queenslander Steve Toyne (centre) tied for second place on 233 ahead of Geoff Cranfield who finished fourth on 237.

NSW senior Jacqui Morgan fired three consistent rounds of 81-77-79 to win the SA Women's Senior Amateur Championship. She defeated Juliet Hugo by seven strokes

 Report from Darryl Hearsch follows. Thanks Darryl.

Another sunny and warm day greeted all players as the field starting teeing off at 8:00. The leading groups were off at 9.30 and many players were chasing down Greg Rhodes trying to reduce his 3 shot lead.

After nine holes Rhodes had  maintained his three shot lead over Steve Toyne while John Davey had slipped a further three shots back. The only players to make a gain on Rhodes' overnight lead were Michael Peeck and John Ashby who parred the front nine but both had been  too many shots back to worry Rhodes.

Rhodes then played faultless golf for the back nine, firing three birdies and six pars to move rights away from the field and finish ten shots ahead of second place.

This left Steve Toyne and David Gleeson to fight it out for who would run second. It was a close battle and came down to the last putt on the last hole before Toyne and Glleeson shared second place. Geoff Cranfield finished in a creditable fourth place two shots ahead of John Davey.

.The best nett went to popular Scone player, Ross Banks. The Banks' had a double celebration with Lyn Banks winning the best nett in the SA Senior Womens event that was held in conjunction with the men's event. Congratulations to Ross and Lyn Banks on achieving a very rare double victory.

Jacqui Morgan took out the SA senior women's stroke event to add another title to her vast cabinet of major titles.

All players complemented Victor Harbor on the presentation of the course and thanked all concerned with running a successful event.

Next year the SA seniors moves to Tanunda Pines which is in the heart of the Barossa. The event dates are 4th – 6th September 2017.

Final Scores
223 Greg Rhodes (76,75,72)
233 David Gleeson (81, 75,77), Steve Toyne (75, 79,79)
237 Geoff Cranfield (77,81,79)
239 John Davey(77,77,85), Alan Bullas (79,79,81), Michael Peeck (86,77,76)
240 John Costello (81,76,83)
241 John Kelly (84,76,81)
242 Nigel Turner (78,78,86), Geoffrey Ashby (80, 80, 82), Norm Cordina (78, 83,81)
245 Mark Gatty (84,80,81)
246 Steve Ross (81, 79,86 )
247 William Winslow (82, 84,81)
248 Ross Banks (86,85,77)

Round 2 Report

An earlier hit off today with another sunny day and again no wind. The low rounds of the day belonged to Greg Rhodes and David Gleeson with 3 over 75’s.

One shot further back on 4 over 76 were John Costello and John Kelly. One shot further back on 5 over was John Davey and Michael Peeck.

So going into the last round Greg Rhodes has a 3 stroke lead over John Davey and Steve Toyne. A further 2 shots back is David Gleeson and Nigel Turner.

There will be plenty of interest in the last two groups to see who can get the jump on the leaders.

151 Greg Rhodes (76,75)
154 John Davey (77,77), Steve Toyne (75, 79)
156 David Gleeson (81, 75), Nigel Turner (78,78)
157 John Costello (81,76)
158 Alan Bullas (79,79), Geoff Cranfield (77,81)
160 John Kelly (84,76), Steve Ross (81, 79), Geoff Ashby (80, 80)
161 Norm Cordina (78, 83)
163 Michael Peeck (86,77), Tony Bailey (80, 83)

Round 1 Report

70 players were greeted by a sunny morning for day one with no wind. The course was presented in beautiful condition along with fast and true greens but the tree lined fairways penalised any errant shots.

Queenslander Steve Toyne scored the low round of the day with a fine score of 75 to be three over par. After a slow start to his round where he was four over after nine, Toyne showed his class by reeling off three birdies in his back nine to cruise around the nine in one under par.

Just one shot back from Toyne at four over is Victorian Greg Rhodes. He also finished strongly being two under par for his last six holes.

Two players, Geoff Cranfield and John Davey sit two shots back from Steve at five over. On six over are Norm Cordina and Nigel Turner.

Leading 18 Hole Scores
75 Steve Toyne
76 Greg Rhodes
77 Geoff Cranfield, John Davey
78 Norm Cordina, Nigel Turner
79 John Wilson, Alan Bullas
80 Tony Bailey, Geoffrey Ashby
81 John Costello, Steve Ross, David Gleeson, Martin Miller, Robert Veit
82 William Winslow

In the women's championship NSW star Jacqui Morgan holds a two stroke lead after her opening round of 82.

image Jacqui Morgan NSW Victor Harbor GC

Championship Honourboard

Greg Rhodes
2016 Winner
Greg Rhodes VIC
Ian Frost
2015 Winner
Ian Frost VIC
John Banting
2014 Winner
John Banting WA
Peter King
2013 Winner
Peter King QLD
Denis Dale
2012 Winner
Denis Dale NSW
Stefan Albinski
2011 Winner
Stefan Albinski NSW
Greg Corben
2010 Winner
Greg Corben NSW
Denis Dale
2009 Winner
Denis Dale
Ross Percy
2008 Winner
Ross Percy VIC
Bill Wellington
2007 Winner
Bill Wellington TAS
Bill Banks
2006 Winner
Bill Banks ACT

Leave a Comment