2015 Kooyonga / Grange Senior Amateur
Greg Rhodes an Easy Winner

Report by Darryl Hearsch

Day 1 Report

It was sleep in time as the field of 87 had a late hit off around 11.30am. We were greeted with a sunny mid teens temperature without the strong winds that greeted us earlier in the week.

The Grange West course was presented in very good condition with championship pin positions on some very slick but true greens. The conversation at the 19th was all about the number of three and four putts we had.

Only 4 players broke 80. Greg Rhodes headed the field with a great score of 2 over 74. At one stage after around 11 holes Greg was 3 under par but a 4 putt and some more dropped shots brought him back to the field.

Round 1 scores

74 Greg Rhodes
78 John Davey
79 John Kelly, John Keogh
80 Lester Peterson,Trevor Smith
81 David Mallet, Darryl Hearsch,Graham Beasley,Geoff Cranfield
82 Mark Gatty,Kym Meyer
83 Keith Thornley,Michael Peeck,Lindsay Elliot

Day 2 Report

An early start at 8.30 saw all players take to a shot gun start at Kooyonga. The course was in immaculate condition and the pin positions allowed players a chance of getting the ball close if they were good enough.

rhodesroyalmelbSo Greg Rhodes (pictured left) took a four shot lead going into round 2 and ended up firing a 2 over par 73 to again have the low score of the day. In winning Rhodes made it back-to-back titles as he had also won in 2015.

Graeme_Beasley.jpgGraham Beasley (pictured right) continued his run of good form firing a round of 76 to finish in a tie for second place with Lester Peterson (80-77).

Nigel Turner improved by 12 shots the previous day to also shoot a good round of 76.

Super senior Eric Lane also showed some of the younger players that age is not a barrier firing a lovely round of 76. They were closely followed by Lester Peterson and Keith Thornley on 77.

Round 2 scores

73 Greg Rhodes
76 Graham Beasley, Nigel Turner and Eric Lane
77 Keith Thornley and Lester Peterson
78 David Mallet, Bruce Linder
79 Michael Peeck, John Costello
80 John Davey, Martin Miller

Final results

147 Greg Rhodes
157 Graham Beasley, Lester Peterson
158 John Davey
159 David Mallet
160 Keith Thornley, Eric Lane
161 John Kelly
162 Bruce Lindner, Michael Peeck
163 Darryl Hearsch, Geoff Cranfield and Trevor Smith
164 Nigel Turner, Martin Miller
165 Lindsay Elliot

2016 prize winners

Senior winner (Gross) Greg Rhodes 147
Senior runner up (Gross) Graham Beasley 157
Senior winner (Nett) John Keogh 148
Senior runner up (Nett) Gary Evans 151
Super senior winner (Gross) Eric Lane 160
Super senior runner up (Gross) Chris Claxton 169
Super senior winner (Nett) John Reynolds 153
Super senior runner up (Nett) Chris Whitaker 156

Championship Honourboard

Greg Rhodes
2016 Winner
Greg Rhodes VIC
Greg Rhodes
2015 Winner
Greg Rhodes VIC
Barry Tippett
2014 Winner
Barry Tippett VIC
Bill Winslow
2013 Winner
Bill Winslow SA
Graham Blizard
2012 Winner
Graham Blizard
Denis Dale
2011 Winner
Denis Dale NSW
John Beaumont
2010 Winner
John Beaumont SA
Denis Dale />
<div class= 2009 Winner
Denis Dale NSW

Leave a Comment