Championship Honourboard

2016 Winner
Gordon Claney VIC
Ian McPherson
2015 Winner
Ian McPherson WA
Brian Sams
2014 Winner
Brian Sams NSW
Ian McPherson
2013 Winner
Ian McPherson WA
Stefan Albinski
2012 Winner
Stefan Albinski NSW
Stefan Albinski
2011 Winner
Stefan Albinski NSW
Chris Coats
2010 Winner
Chris Coats QLD
Stefan Albinski
2009 Winner
Stefan Albinski NSW
Denis Dale
2008 Winner
Denis Dale NSW
Chris Coatsi
2007 Winner
Chris Coats QLD

2016 REPORT - Gordon Claney Wins the Senior Matchplay Championship at Coolangatta-Tweed Heads

Australian Gordon Claney (left) has won the 2016 Australian Senior Matchplay Championship. In a strong display of quality golf the top seeded Claney was too good for leading New Zealand senior Michael Barltrop (right) winning the final 4&3 on the West Course at Coolangatta Tweed Heads Golf Club.

The 2016 Australian Senior Men's Match Play Championship Final began in drizzly conditions at Coolangatta & Tweed Heads Golf Club between Gordon Claney from Victoria and Michael Baltrop from New Zealand.

Claney took an early one hole lead with some steady golf on a damp course still recovering from the 150mm of rain 3 days ago, however Baltrop rallied to win consecutive holes at the 5th and 6th to put his nose in front.

The foot was then firmly planted on the accelerator by Claney, playing exceptional golf with birdie putts on the 8th and 9th which put him back in front and on the offensive.

“Gordon played absolutely flawless golf from the middle holes” Baltrop said.

Claney went on the finish the match on the 15th hole winning 4&3 in his maiden Match Play Championship victory.

This now gives Claney the honour of having won both Australian Senior Championships - the Strokeplay Championship in 2014 and now the Matchplay Championship.

In the playoff for third place NSW senior Lester Peterson won convincingly over Victorian Alan Bullas recording a 6&4 win.

Michael Barltrop NZ Gordon Claney VIC

Final Positions and Ranking Points

Click here if results not displayed below

Final & Round 6 Results

Click here if results not displayed below

Semi Final & Round 5 Results

Click here if results not displayed below

Quarter Final & Round 4 Results

Click here if results not displayed below

Round Robin Results

Click here if results not displayed below

Round Robin 3 Results

Click here if results not displayed below

Round Robin 2

strong>Click here if results not displayed below

Round Robin 1

Click here if results not displayed below
The Coolangatta Tweed Heads Golf Club will again be the host of the Australian Senior Matchplay Championship after their very successful running of the tournament in 2014 and 2015. Previously held at the end of the year the re-she scheduling of the matchplay in June has seen a high level of player interest and entries for the championship.

cooltweed7 Click here or ENTRY FORM button above to enter -  Online Matchplay Entry

Click here for a  List of current players entered

Entries are now open for the 2016 Men's Senior Match play Championship to be played at the Coolangatta Tweed Heads Golf Club from June 20-23. The defending champion is West Australian Ian McPherson.

The format for the event has changed

The top 32 players that make the field are placed into eight pools consisting of four players in each pool. Each pool then plays round robin match play (each individual playing 3 matches in total), with results then determining which draw a player competes in to determine final ranking positions:

First place in pool stage: Main draw (Quarter Finals and positions 1-8)
Second place in pool stage: Consolation matches, positions 9-16
Third place in pool stage: Consolation matches, positions 17-24
Fourth place in pool stage: Consolation matches, positions 25-32

After the round robin each competitor then plays an additional three match play rounds to determine the Championship winner and all other subsequent ranking positions. This is six matches in total.


Monday 20 June– AM: Round robin – Rd 1; PM: Round Robin Rd 2
Tuesday 21 June – AM: Round robin – Rd 3; Quarter Final
Wednesday 22 June – AM: Semi Final
Thursday 23 June – 11.00 am - 1:00 pm: Final Round

Online Entry Fee: $240 which includes a practice round, six matches in a motorised cart and food and beverage for the presentation function on Thursday June 23.

The event is open to all players listed on the Australian Men’s Senior Ranking System

2015 winner Ian McPherson defeated a strong field to claim his first second national matchplay title and he is sure to return to a course that is now one of his favourites. As it carries a prestigious national title and many ranking points most of Australia’s top senior golfers are sure to include the Matchplay when planning their 2015 golfing calendar.

Club captain Dave Morrison advises that the Coolangatta Tweed course is definitely in its best condition in the middle of the year and he looks forward to another bigger and better and successful event. He also advised that Coolangatta Tweed and Golf Australia have agreed that they will host the event for at least a few more years.

This is the only Matchplay championship on the senior calendar and it is will attract a top quality field. Players are seeded for the draw on the basis of their current Australian rankings. The warm weather of sunny Queensland and the very good golf course make this a very welcome addition to the June calendar.

Leave a Comment