2016 ACT Senior Amateur Championship
Queanbeyan, Gungahlin Lakes, Federal Golf Clubs
November 8-10, 2016

Russell Bunn (76-74-74) has fired a great last round of 74 to come from behind and snatch victory in the 2016 ACT Senior Championship. The final round of the 54 hole championship was played  at Federal Golf Club.

Bunn's last round was enough to pass overnight leader Ken Brewer (74-72-79) who recorded a 79. Brewer played well early in his round and turned one over par and seemingly in charge of his game. 

Then Brewer dropped five strokes in the last five holes while Bunn parred the last three holes to record the narrowest of wins.

Wayne Buick (77-74-76) and Graham Beasley (76-74-77) finished in a tie for third place two strokes behind Brewer in a consistent display. John Neeson (78-74-76) rounded out the top five finishes.

2016 ACT Senior Final Scores

224   Russell BUNN   76 - 74 - 74
225   Ken BREWER   74 - 72 - 79  
227   Wayne BUICK   77 - 74 - 76, Graham BEASLEY   76 - 74 - 77
228   John NEESON   78 - 74 - 76  
231   Russell ROGERS   77 - 78 - 76  
233   Ross BOCKMAN   80 - 74 - 79  
234   Greg STANFORD   79 - 77 - 78  
235   Dennis ALLEN   80 - 79 - 76, Greg MCKAY   73 - 79 - 83
236   Geoff CRANFIELD   79 - 81 - 76, Bryan KELLY   80 - 74 - 82, Mick STREIT   78 - 76 - 82
237   Terry SMALL   78 - 79 - 80  
238   Ross REES   82 - 73 - 83  
239   Mathew DOUGHTY   78 - 85 - 76, Graham LEAKE   78 - 78 - 83, David MCCLELLAND   76 - 80 - 83

  In the women's championship Jill Blenkley upset the recent winner of the Australian Women's Senior title Jacqui Morgan. A fantastic round of 75 in the second round gave Blenkey a big lead and she held on well to claim the title.

  Report from the ACT Golf Website:

After three keenly fought rounds, Newcastle Golf Club’s Russell Bunn recorded his first win in this AUSOOM event with a 3-round gross score of 224.

Concord Golf Club’s Kenneth Brewer, who started the final round at Federal Golf Club with a 4-shot buffer over his nearest rivals recorded a disappointing final round of 79 to finish 1 shot behind Russell.

Royal Canberra’s Wayne Buick used his local knowledge of Canberra courses to record steady rounds of 77, 74 and 76 and take 3rd place with a score of 227, on a count back from Mollymook Golf Club’s Graham Beasley.

The total playing numbers for the event were down a little on previous years with a total field size of only 70 men. The first round was played at Queanbeyan Golf Club on Tuesday 8th November.

With all of the recent rain the course was in superb condition with fast and true greens; apparently putting down-slope on greens resulted in numerous 3 putts. Best score for the round was from Greg Mckay from Cabramatta Golf Club with a 3-over par score of 73. Kenneth Brewer (Concord) 74 and Michael Kilfoyle (Federal) took out the other major prizes with score of 76 and 77, respectively.

A highlight of the day for Federal member Bob Correll was a hole-in-one on the 17th hole – a 140m downhill par 3.

Day 2 at Gungahlin Lakes was also played in fairly benign conditions, which helped Concord’s Kenneth Brewer to record a score of 72, which was one under the daily scratch rating of 73.

Gold Creek’s Ross Rees recorded birdies on the 3rd,13th and 14th holes to help offset 4 bogey holes to finish only one behind Ken on 73.

As in previous years the difficult par 5 16th hole saw many players come unstuck. Ten 7’s, five 8’s, one 9, one 10 and a 13 spoilt what would otherwise have been some reasonable rounds.

The ACT presented another warm, sunny and calm day for the final round at Federal on Thursday 10th November. The Federal Amateur was played on the previous weekend so the course was in excellent condition with firm fast and tricky greens.

Some overnight rain helped to soften the greens and local players commented that this helped the greens play a little easier than on the weekend.

As noted above, Russell Bunn took out the honours despite a double on the 15th --partially caused by an air swing on that hole (according to one of his playing partners, who shall remain anonymous). Six players finished two shots behind Russell on 76.

DGA Captain Jim Jackson presented a range of prize vouchers to the main categories of winners at the presentation dinner.Royal Canberra’s Liz Symth presented awards to the main winners in the Women’s competition at the same dinner. The major winner for the Women was defending Champions Jill Blenkey, also from the Newcastle Golf Club.

Championship Honourboard

Russell Bunn
2016 Winner
Russell Bunn NSW
Greg Ellis
2015 Winner
Greg Ellis NSW
Stefan Albinski
2014 Winner
Stefan Albinski NSW
3 Winners
2013 Winner
Vince Clark NSW *
3 Winners
2013 Winner
Denis Dale NSW
3 Winners
2013 Winner
Greg McKay NSW
Bill Banks
2012 Winner
Bill Banks ACT
Bill Banks
2011 Winner
Bill Banks ACT
Denis Dale
2010 Winner
Denis Dale NSW
Peter King
2009 Winner
Peter King QLD
Brad Doolan
2008 Winner
Brad Doolan ACT
Denis Dale
2007 Winner
Denis Dale NSW
Tony Gresham
2006 Winner
Tony Gresham NSW

2016 ACT Senior Amateur Championship

Leave a Comment